Meet the Artist Lecture Series

After an inspiring and well-attended first year of events, we are happy to announce the return of the Meet the Artist Lecture Series during the 2019-20 academic year, starting summer 2019.

The lecture series gives artists, academics and cultural entrepreneurs the opportunity to present their work to an audience composed of members of the Webster community as well as external guests. Speakers will be interviewed for the Webster University Geneva Podcast.

The series will continue to function as a research, learning, and service platform, creating opportunities for the Webster community and general public to engage with creative people. While the program of events for 2018-19 focused exclusively on the visual arts, our events for the 2019-20 year will reflect a broader definition of “art” and “art-making”, and will be devoted to exploring a wider range of arts – including the performance arts – as well as the humanities. This will bring the series into closer alignment with the mission of the Global Citizenship Program and the university’s liberal arts mandate.

Lectures are free, open to the public, and generally take place on campus at lunchtime (1-2 pm). All are welcome and there is no need to register in advance.

Our event dates and speakers for September through December 2019 are below:

3 September – Grisha Loginov, DJ

12 September – Dr. Bob Bianchi

26 September – Maria Almada, photographer (www.elnomada.org)

3 October – Olga Biernacka, blogger & online community manager (www.parentville.ch)

8 October – Joy Corthésy, multimedia journalist (http://www.webster.ch/about/success/successcorthesy.html)

7 November – Alan Lawson, visual artist (http://www.aj-lawson.com/)

14 November – Mishkat Hafiz, visual journalist (https://mishkathafiz.com/)

26 November – Leticia Antunes Maciel, owner of espace L contemporary art gallery (https://www.espacel.net)

5 December – Dr. Hélène Tissières, African literature, film and contemporary art specialist, Guest Researcher at the Global Studies Institute (https://www.helenetissieres-afrique-cultures.com)

Past events (March 2018-May 2019):

22 March 2018 – Marisa Cornejo (marisacornejo.com)
5 April 2018 – Jennifer Niederhauser Schlup (jennifer-niederhauser-schlup.com)
3 May 2018 – Paul March (paul-march.com)
21 June 2018 – Nina Rodin (ninarodin.com)
28 June 2018 – Marquis’ McGee (http://www.marquismcgee.com)
5 July 2018 – Tim Young (https://www.instagram.com/timyoungartist/)

27 September 2018 – Sema Jonsson @ 6:30 pm (https://artsema.com/) SPECIAL EVENING FOLLOWED BY EXHIBITION OPENING
4 October – Rolf Magnusson
11 October – Rodrigo Hombre Radikal Figueredo (http://www.rodrigofigueredo.com)
8 November – Kristian Skeie (http://ks-imaging.blogspot.com)
15 November – Antonio Natale (https://antonionataleartist.com) @ 6:30 pm SPECIAL EVENT FOLLOWED BY EXHIBITION OPENING
6 December – Cecile Balsem SPECIAL EVENT HELD IN FRENCH

24 January 2019 – Alan Bogana (http://www.alanbogana.com)
31 January – Lina Bessonova (www.linabessonova.com)
7 February – Laura Couto Rosado (https://www.lcr.digital)
14 February – Gilles Dusabe (www.gillesdusabe.com)
28 February – Arantxa Cedillo (https://arctype.photo/)

4 April – Ásthildur Jónsdóttir (https://astajons.com/) SPECIAL EVENT FOLLOWED BY OPENING OF “WALK THE SPACE” OUTDOOR EXHIBITION (WILL REMAIN ON VIEW UNTIL JULY 11TH)
11 April – Olivia McGilchrist (http://oliviamcgilchrist.com)
18 April – Noemi Niederhauser (http://www.noemi-niederhauser.ch)
2 May – Francesco Arese-Visconti (https://aresevisconti.com)

4 June – Julia “Jayhan” Handschin, singer & songwriter (https://www.imdb.com/name/nm7181650/) – in collaboration with the WCCI and Media Communications department

17 June – James Lang, visual artist and writer (jlangart.com)

27 June – Pierre Bessuges, visual artist (https://pierrebessugescreations.com/)

4 July – Angela McFall, visual artist (https://angelamcfall.com/)

This series of lectures is hosted by Webster University’s Global Citizenship Program in collaboration with the Media Communications Department and the Webster Center of Creativity and Innovation (WCCI). Lunch for the speakers is provided through the WCCI.

For questions/ comments, please contact Dr. Julianna Sandholm-Bark (bark@webster.ch).