Meet the Artist

After an inspiring and well-attended first season, we are happy to announce the return of the Meet the Artist Lecture Series during the 2018-19 academic year!

The lecture series gives artists, academics, and cultural entrepreneurs the opportunity to present their work to an audience composed of members of the Webster community as well as external guests. Speakers will be interviewed for the Webster University Geneva Podcast.

The series aims to enrich Webster’s intellectual culture, to foster creative and innovative ways of thinking amongst the members of the Webster community, and to create a stronger link between Webster and the rich artistic ecosystem in the Geneva area. Lectures are free and take place on campus on a regular basis on Thursdays 1-2 pm, unless otherwise noted below. There is no need to register.

Here are our event dates and speakers for September 2018 through May 2019:

27 September 2018 – Sema Jonsson @ 6:30 pm (https://artsema.com/)
4 October 2018 – Rolf Magnusson
11 October 2018 – Rodrigo Hombre Radikal Figueredo (http://www.rodrigofigueredo.com)
8 November – Kristian Skeie (http://ks-imaging.blogspot.com)
15 November – Antonio Natale (https://antonionataleartist.com) @ 6:30 pm
6 December 2018 – Noemi Niederhauser (http://www.noemi-niederhauser.ch)
24 January 2019 – Alan Bogana (http://www.alanbogana.com)
31 January 2019 – Lina Bessonova (www.linabessonova.com)
14 February 2019 – Gilles Dusabe (www.gillesdusabe.com)
28 February 2019 – Arantxa Cedillo (http://www.photoktm.com/artist/arantxa-cedillo/)
28 March 2019 – Angela McFall (https://angelamcfall.com)
4 April 2019 – Ásthildur Jónsdóttir (https://astajons.com/)
11 April 2019 – Olivia McGilchrist (http://oliviamcgilchrist.com)
2 May 2019 – Francesco Arese-Visconti (https://aresevisconti.com)

Please note that the events on 27 September and 15 November will involve a lecture followed by an exhibition opening.

 

Here are our past events:

22 March 2018 – Marisa Cornejo (marisacornejo.com)
5 April 2018 – Jennifer Niederhauser Schlup (jennifer-niederhauser-schlup.com)
3 May 2018 – Paul March (paul-march.com)
21 June 2018 – Nina Rodin (ninarodin.com)
28 June 2018 – Marquis’ McGee (http://www.marquismcgee.com)
5 July 2018 – Tim Young (https://www.instagram.com/timyoungartist/)

This series of lectures is hosted by Webster University’s Global Citizenship Program in collaboration with the Media Communications Department and the Webster Center of Creativity and Innovation (WCCI). Lunch for the speakers is provided through the WCCI.

For questions/ comments, please contact Dr. Julianna Sandholm-Bark (bark@webster.ch).